What If I Like the Work?


I had the feeling last week, that I wanted to do the consulting work I was assigned to. I realized that at moments I was having fun doing the research. Perhaps, I thought, the anxiety is coming from getting to a place where I like it, where I am good at it, and I feel good at it. Perhaps I am worried about being happy because someone else who isn’t always wants a piece. It was bad, around Jessie, to enjoy things. To be just plain happy. I couldn’t  have fun, silly reckless abandon fun, integrate joyfully into the world, because she felt she couldn’t. And she had me and kept me and it would be so terribly unfair if I was giddy…before she was.

About wonderfulshantelle

Journey To My Wonderful Self

Posted on July 28, 2016, in 12-step, Addiction, Adult Children, Alanon, Balance, Coaching, codependence, Creativity, emotional abuse, emotional sobriety, health, Inner child, Outer Child, Parenting, recovery, Relationship, Self-Care, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

