Jump Ship Now


Being present in the moment helps with discovering how to really live change…

I’ve made changes in the past 2-3 years. But also am holding on to a lot of old patterns, habits of fear that keep me from taking BIG steps in a new direction. In moments I can more clearly feel that I’m still standing on a sinking boat. The water is up to my ankles and getting higher now. But I had become so used to the soggy feeling that I could fix my gaze elsewhere and ignore it.

This morning I was hoping to put words to the felt sensation I most often have in my stomach when I wake up in the morning. It’s a nagging feeling like I left home and left the stove or the iron on or something. Finally the words came. I have to jump ship now. This one I made home and built with scared eyes and a scared heart is going down.

I must jump ship. And I don’t have to be afraid that what I leave behind is anything I need. Look forward and jump.

About wonderfulshantelle

Journey To My Wonderful Self

Posted on September 17, 2015, in 12-step, Addiction, Adult Children, codependence, Domestic Violence, emotional abuse, emotional sobriety, Inner child, recovery, Relationship, withdrawal. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You can do it. Wishing you a brighter future.

  2. I can relate. In my case, my sinking ship is living at home with my parents. It’s annoying to have made so many positive strides and still be plagued with fear. “What if I fail again and end up right back there?” I think you are spot on though. Look forward and jump. Love it! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

