Third love letter to me


I can see you’re in a lot of pain, Shantelle. I can see that you can barely breathe. I can see you are terrified, and feel incredibly alone, and are just sitting waiting for them to stop. I can see that you’re sitting waiting to love yourself once something or somebody else changes. You forget that I love you. We forget that I love you very much. I’m the one that’s been scared for you all your life. On the one that’s tried to entertain you all your life. I’m the one that’s trying to treat you. I’m the one that told you to be careful.i’m the one who’s comforted you all your life. I’m the one that tried to help you manage on the scary situations. I’m the one that’s trying to help you do good things for yourself. I’m the one that’s taking risks with you. And the one that’s taking chances with you. I’m the one that’s taking trips with you, Gone cycling with you, applied for school and gotten in with you. I’m the one that’s been with you picking people that weren’t very nice. I’m the one that’s defended you. I’m the one that’s listened to you cry, And found your danger, and fun. I’m the one that’s trying to warn you when you had doubts about people. I’m the one that’s fed you very well for almost 25 years. I’m the one that’s taking you on independent trips to unknown places. I’m the one that’s trembled with you when you dreaded something, or anticipated something, or were threatened or abused . I’m the one that still sitting here with you now. What do you need from me right now? What would you like me to do to help, while you’re suffering, while you’re terrified? How can I take care of you, do what you need?

I can be with you while you do the most difficult thing.

About wonderfulshantelle

Journey To My Wonderful Self

Posted on January 4, 2015, in 12-step, Addiction, Adult Children, Alanon, codependence, Domestic Violence, emotional sobriety, Inner child, Meditation, recovery, Relationship, Uncategorized, withdrawal. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Victoria macDonald

    Keep giving yourself those emotional hugs…and welcome hugs from others who also love you. I am sending you a huge bear hug, my love. XO

  2. Very touching letter. Thank you for sharing it on your blog. I also have issues with self-love so I can totally relate.

    xoxo {{{{hugs}}}} ~Fern

Leave a Reply

