Hammer It In


How does one hammer into one’s head that NOTHING they can do will ‘help’ there alcoholic counterpart. Nothing they can do will make them the kind of happy that will save their life. Nothing I can do will effect his desire to be honest with me or with themselves. NOTHING I do can fill him up enough to give him the courage to face his own fears.

It is what I will NOT do…

So he will consider that he can do for himself.

Trying to make HIM happy will not make me as happy as I need to feel.

And it is what I WILL do for me.
Discover MY needs and fill them.

Allow him the space to do the same.
Because that’s the kind of love I hope he will feel.

About wonderfulshantelle

Journey To My Wonderful Self

Posted on May 21, 2014, in 12-step, AA, Addiction, Adult Children, Alanon, codependence, emotional abuse, emotional sobriety, Inner child, recovery, Relationship, Uncategorized, withdrawal. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

