Human and Humility


This evening I went to an AA meeting. My intuition or my higher power told me last night that I would go.

It worked out.

Through my eyes, there is some serious miracle happening in AA meetings. And I needed to feel it today.

The miracle is humility. The promise of humility.
I think I feel closest to my higher power when I am on or near the ocean. At least that’d where I always experienced it when I was young because I grew up near the ocean.
And the power comes to me in the form of an understanding of how small I am in this world. How absolutely essential but entirely insignificant my ‘self’, my ego, really is. I experience that comfort of understanding my place in the world when I listen to people speak in AA meetings. As I sit in a room full of people putting themselves at the mercy of the power of the force that has brought them into that room. Usually when I go to AA (I am not an alcoholic, I am in CODA 12-step program), I am crying or at least close to losing it most of the meeting…Overwhelmed by people’s ability to let go…and sad at how silly I am for trying to take control of things that are not my business nor even in my realm of ability…

I am thankful for this, and thankful for the chance to live today and to end my day with that kind of comfort and with my higher power’s Grace.

About wonderfulshantelle

Journey To My Wonderful Self

Posted on January 28, 2013, in AA, Addiction, codependence, emotional abuse, Meditation, Relationship. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

