Thank You


Image

This spoke loudly to me last night. It goaded me… I read it and I also, in my own gut, saw: “knowing how to live with myself is central to the art of living. When I can really ‘live’ with myself I can live with others without needing them to make up for the living for myself that I haven’t done yet”…

I immediately thought about what it must be like to live with me… I even try to be invisible to myself. And then I resent myself for it… It made me terribly aware of the distraction that other people have been as I have tried to ‘escape’. Escape what, I ask myself… Escape this entire life. Escape this house of cards I have built for myself with denial and performance…

To live with oneself…Really ‘live’ with oneself… To me, it is a dare. In the best sense of the word. Being solitary is living alone with frankness, sincerity, bold self-truth, peace, fulfillment and satisfaction. If I find it painful to even brush my teeth before I go to bed, just because I feel lonely with my own self, then how am I to be happy, period… Others must feel lonely with me too?! I expect others to live with me with respect and consideration and love and gentleness…But I do not do that for my own self…!

The gauntlet has been thrown by my higher power: can I live with myself? I am invited to care for myself and live at the same time. More than just breathe and ‘do what I am supposed to do’. Can I really ‘live’ with myself. And how will I do it? Life begins….Now.

Yesterday: how did I live with myself with respect, consideration, attentiveness, love, gentleness?
– I let myself rest in bed before getting up
– I fed myself well (except for the candy)
– I took myself to Yoga even though my work is overflowing, gave myself what I need
– I prayed for myself
– I meditated
– I thought of plans to make for myself
– I tried to discipline myself, structure my own day, to help me get my writing done
Today: living with myself…
– I meditated.
– I made myself a good lunch.
– I took a little pressure off of myself to do ‘everything’
– I had patience
– I drove through the snow to school with mindfulness; reminded myself that the obsessive thinking I was doing on the way to school could get me into an accident and reminded myself that they are only thoughts, those events are in the past, and that I can do differently from now on.
– I wrote this post.

I will live well with myself. I will be a good roommate. I will be a good partner in life to myself. I will be conscious as I live with myself. I will accompany myself through everything the best I can, and never let anyone take my place… I will not escape my world when I am afraid, I will be there, in my life, to see things through. I am not alone.

Thank you for this day, 24 hours of opportunity to live with myself as I need and want. Live with awareness and intention…and with care and gentleness. I will take care of my self, and my life…

About wonderfulshantelle

Journey To My Wonderful Self

Posted on January 22, 2013, in Addiction, codependence, emotional abuse, Meditation, Relationship. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This spoke loudly to me last night. It goaded me… I read it and I also, in my own gut, saw: “knowing how to live with myself is central to the art of living. When I can really ‘live’ with myself I can live with others without needing them to make up for the living for myself that I haven’t done yet”…

    To live with oneself…Really ‘live’ with oneself… It is a dare. In the best sense of the word. Being solitary is living alone with peace and satisfaction. If I find it painful to even brush my teeth before I go to bed, just because I am all by myself, then how am I to be happy, period… I expect others to live with me with respect and consideration and love and gentleness…But I do not do that for my own self…!

    The gauntlet has been thrown by my higher power: can I live with myself? Can I care for myself and live at the same time. More than just breathe and ‘do what I am supposed to do’. Can I really ‘live’ with myself. And how will I do it? Life begins….Now.

    Yesterday: how did I live with myself with respect, consideration, attentiveness, love, gentleness?
    – I let myself rest in bed before getting up
    – I fed myself well (except for the candy)
    – I took myself to Yoga even though my work is overflowing
    – I prayed for myself
    – I meditated
    – I thought of plans to make for myself
    – I tried to discipline myself to help me get my writing done
    Today: living with myself…
    – I meditated.
    – I made myself a good lunch.
    – I took a little pressure off of myself to do ‘everything’
    – I had patience
    – I drove through the snow to school with mindfulness; reminded myself that the obsessive thinking I was doing on the way to school could get me into an accident and reminded myself that they are only thoughts, those events are in the past, and that I can do differently from now on.
    – I wrote this post.

    – I thought of

Leave a Reply

