What Codependent Payoff


Am I getting from my relationship with G?

– he is accepting my bad behavior. Like I do with him, he always gives me another chance
– I don’t have to be accountable for myself around him
– I can take out my frustrations from years past on him: he is an excuse for me to be angry
– I can replay my vulnerability in jeopardy over and over.
– I don’t have to be an adult… I can have excuses for not accomplishing things, for not getting things done…
– I have an excuse for not taking care of myself
– I don’t have to try and fix me; I can say that I don’t have time…

About wonderfulshantelle

Journey To My Wonderful Self

Posted on October 10, 2012, in codependence, emotional abuse, Relationship. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Paula
    No, they are all terrible.
    My sudden clear awareness of them, however, is great.
    I was taking a little codependent personal inventory, things that I do not want to face but will free me once I do đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

